Russia Armenia Military Agreement


Napsala: admin | Kategorie: Nezařazené | Datum: 12. dubna 2021

On 4 February 2009, five of the seven members reached an agreement to establish the Collective Rapid Reaction Force (KSOR) (Russian: ” () whose plans were finalized on 14 June. The force will be deployed to combat military aggression, conduct counter-terrorism operations, combat cross-border crime and drug trafficking, and neutralize the effects of natural disasters. Belarus and Uzbekistan initially gave up on signing the agreement; Belarus due to a trade dispute with Russia and Uzbekistan due to general concerns. Belarus signed the agreement the following October, while Uzbekistan has not yet signed it. However, a source within the Russian delegation said that Uzbekistan would not participate permanently in the collective force, but that it would “delegate” its services to participate in ad hoc operations. [20] [21] MOSCOW (Moscow Newspaper) – President Vladimir Putin has approved a government proposal to create joint Russian and Armenian armed forces, the Interfax news agency reported. One of the main tasks of the joint armed forces will be to cover the land borders of Russia and Armenia and to work within the framework of the organization of the Collective Security Treaty, a regional military alliance of post-Soviet states. The organization of the Collective Security Treaty (CSTO); Organizatsiya Dogovora o Kollektivnoy Bezopasnosti (ODKB) is an intergovernmental military alliance signed on 15 May 1992. In 1992, six post-Soviet states belonging to the Commonwealth of Independent States – Russia, Armenia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan – signed the Collective Security Treaty (also known as the Tashkent Pact or “Tashkent Treaty”). [1] Three other post-Soviet states – Azerbaijan, Belarus and Georgia – signed the following year, and the treaty entered into force in 1994. Five years later, six of the nine, with the exception of Azerbaijan, Georgia and Uzbekistan, agreed to renew the treaty for a further five years, and in 2002, six agreed to create the collective security treaty as a military alliance. Azerbaijan insists that its close ally, Turkey, play a central role in implementing the agreement, after Ankara was widely accused of delivering Syrian mercenaries to support the Baku army during the fighting.

Armenian Prime Minister Nikol Pachinjan on Saturday called for enhanced military cooperation with Russia, a day after Azerbaijani troops entered a controversial area previously held by Armenian separatists. Since 21 December 2011, the parties have been able to veto the creation of new foreign military bases in the Member States of the Collective Security Treaty Organization (TSC). In addition, Kazakhstan assumed the rotating presidency of the CSTO of Belarus. [6] According to local media, a large crowd gathered in the Armenian capital Yerevan to protest against the agreement. They broke into the Parliament and government buildings and shouted, “We will not give up.” On 12 January 2015, a Russian soldier from the 102nd military base in Gyumri, Valeri Permyakov, murdered an Armenian family of seven overnight. [7] He was formally charged under the Armenian penal code, but still detained at the 102nd military base. [8] On 15 January, popular demonstrations erupted in Gyumri demanding the surrender of Permyakov to Armenian justice. [9] A protest demonstration was also held in Freedom Square in Yerevan, during which 20 people were arrested for clashes with police. [10] [11] In August 2015, Permyakov was convicted by the Russian military court of a series of counts without murder; in August 2016, the Armenian court, which held the hearings at the site of Russia`s 102nd military base, found Valerio Permyakov guilty of a series of charges, including murder, and sentenced him to life in prison. [12] The Tribunal`s decision was upheld by the Yerevan Court of Appeal in December 2016. [13] More than 250 international treaties and agreements, including the Treaty of Friendship, Cooperation and Mutual Assistance of 29 August 1997, were concluded between the two States at the government level